Your Spanish Language

Explore the spanish speaking world.

República Dominicana

Capital: Santo Domingo
Government type: representative democracy
Location: Caribbean, eastern two-thirds of the island of Hispaniola, between the Caribbean Sea and the North Atlantic Ocean, east of Haiti.
Area: 48,380 sq km
Climate: tropical maritime; little seasonal temperature variation; seasonal variation in rainfall.
Terrain: rugged highlands and mountains with fertile valleys interspersed.
Population: 9,365,818 (July 2007 est.)
Ethnic groups: mixed 73%, white 16%, black 11%
Religions: Roman Catholic 95%, other 5%
Languages: Spanish (official)