Your Spanish Language

Explore the spanish speaking world.

Costa Rica

Capital: San Jose
Government type: democratic republic
Location: Central America, bordering both the Caribbean Sea and the North Pacific Ocean, between Nicaragua and Panamá.
Area: land: 50,660 sq km
Climate: tropical and subtropical; dry season (December to April); rainy season (May to November); cooler in highlands.
Terrain: coastal plains separated by rugged mountains including over 100 volcanic cones, of which several are major volcanoes.
Population: 4,133,884 (July 2007 est.)
Ethnic groups: white (including mestizo) 94%, black 3%, Amerindian 1%, Chinese 1%, other 1%
Religions: Roman Catholic 76.3%, Evangelical 13.7%, Jehovah's Witnesses 1.3%, other Protestant 0.7%, other 4.8%, none 3.2%
Languages: Spanish (official), English